The second album by The 1975, ‘I like it when you sleep for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it’, was released on 26th February 2016. For me, being a massive fan of the band, this album was a giant milestone as it was such a turn in the bands journey. They have jumped from their typical alternative indie ‘leather jacket and cigarette’ style in their first album, to an album where every track brings something different. Each track pulls together the groups biggest influences with an inspiring 80s sound throughout. As soon as I listened to ‘Love Me’, I was channeled with links to Bowie’s ‘Fame’ and ‘Fashion”.

Frontman Matty Healy: “I’m challenging people to sit through an hour and 15 minutes and 17 songs that all sound completely different from each other. It’s quite an emotional investment. It’s art … the world needs this album.”

Album Track List:

  1. The 1975
  2. Love Me
  3. UGH!
  4. A Change Of Heart
  5. She’s American
  6. If I Believe You
  7. Please Be Naked
  8. Lostmyhead
  9. The Ballad Of Me and My Brain
  10. Somebody Else
  11. Loving Someone
  12. I Like It When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It
  13. The Sound
  14. This Must Be My Dream
  15. Paris
  16. Nana
  17. She Lays Down

This is definitely one of the most unconventional song structures and most creative albums of this year, and to only carry that forward to their live tours and blow their audience’s mind. There is something about Matty Healy, the band’s front man, that really makes the band. He is truly captivating and his attitude, unconcerned what anybody else thinks, gives this The 1975 their edge and what makes them what they are. You could take nearly any quote from an interview with him and it sounds truly poetic in a way we sit back in our seats and have to think it over for at least a few hours.

“It doesn’t piss me off when people think we only have one type of fan. But it pisses me off when people assume that teenage girls – for example – aren’t as smart, as consumers, as some crusty 45-year-old North London liberal. There’s a knowing recognition of my life and the way I feel on this album that replaces the naivety of the first record. That was about the desire to better myself. This one says, ‘this is just who I am, and I’m alright with that now’. I’m alright with that sadness – and our fans get that.” – Matty Healy talking about his fan base

Of course this band aren’t too everyone’s taste, and they do receive a lot of hate. But at the end of the day thats what music is? If we all liked the same thing it’d be a pretty boring place. However, for a band with a massive backing, they have to deal with a lot of backlash. Their music video for ‘The Sound’ captivated this hate perfectly, laughing at what critics have to say and again showed the attitude that they really don’t care! The band begin the music video trapped in a glass box. Quotes flash onto the screen such as “Terrible high-pitched vocals”, “Punch-your-TV obnoxious” and “Unconvincing emo lyrics”. Towards the end of the video the tables are turned and it’s the critics that are trapped in the box and the band are free. They are only rising, and the people who try and bring them down are being laughed at from Matty in his giant heels.

Listening to the album on the morning of it’s release, on FaceTime with another fan who I’d never even met in person but sharing such a magical moment together really showed me how music can bring people together. In your pyjamas at stupid o’ clock crying over the beautiful masterpiece that was this album. Carrying through to seeing the band live is another undesirable experience. Sharing your love of music with a concert hall full of people who you’ve never even met before but you have been brought together by this one element. Live music has always been an incredible experience for me, even seeing bands I’m not too familiar with, it’s just an amazing sensation. But Frontman Matty Healy and the rest of the band, George Daniel (drums), Adam Hann (guitar), Ross Macdonald (bass), never fail to put on a phenomenal performance that excites the crowd. Visually, their set is stunning. Colour is a large inspiration throughout their work and the use of lighting and colour on stage makes their performance set aside from any I’ve ever seen.

For me, I cannot wait to be able to go see them again, hopefully in their December tour. This band is not just music, it’s an experience. This band fixes everything that is wrong with todays pop music.

1 Comment

  1. September 3, 2018 / 3:54 pm

    Howdy! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *